Regional information


Scuol ( german Schuls ) is a political community in the region Engiadina Bassa/Val Müstair, of the Swiss canton Grisons. Until 1943 the village was officially called Schuls, 1943-1970 Scuol/Schuls, since then Scuol. The name Scuol comes from the Latin scopulus “cliff” and refers to the location of the church of San Geer.

Scuol is a water oasis. Thus the water not only splashes on the Inn, but also at the many village fountains and fills the large basins at Bogn Engiadina. Scuol welcomes you to the Bath Queen of the Alps.


The centre of Livigno is a pedestrian zone, but it can be reached by cars to and from the hotels located there. Four free bus lines run throughout the year. In addition, especially during the summer and winter holidays as well as on Saturdays, there are numerous shopping tourists who benefit from low prices on duty-free items, especially on alcoholic beverages, tobacco products, perfumes and fuels. Similar to Samnaun, the municipality of Livigno also levies its own minor taxes on its otherwise duty-free products, but unlike its Swiss “competitors”, Livigno does not levy VAT.


Nauders is a municipality in the district Landeck in the federal state Tirol (Austria). It lies at an altitude of 1394 m above sea level, has 1531 inhabitants (as of 1 January 2019) and has 4200 beds for tourists. The municipality covers an area of 90.3 km². Most of the inhabitants of Nauders live from agriculture and tourism, in summer and – above all – in winter. The commune is part of the Landeck judicial district.

Val Müstair

The village can be reached from Zernez in the Engadine via the Ofenpass. East of Müstair runs the border to Vinschgau (South Tyrol), which also forms the Rhaeto-Romanic-German language border. The local community of Taufers in the Münstertal also belongs geographically to the Münstertal. The Umbrail Pass leads from Santa Maria to Veltlin. The Rambach (Romanesque Rome) flows through the valley.

The valley is divided into three parts, which are named as follows:

Terzal d’Aint (inner third) with Tschierv, Fuldera and Lü

Terzal d’Immez (middle third) with Valchava and Sta. Maria

Terzal d’Oura (outer third) with Müstair

This division also corresponds to the three plateaus that can be found on the Swiss side of the valley.